top of page

Tribute to
Francis Jourdain

pionneer of modernity
from June 16 to July 28, 2023

PIONNEER OF MODERNITY

Close to artistic circles, politically engaged, avant-garde, painter, writer, decorator, interior designer; there is no shortage of qualifiers to try to define Francis Jourdain. ‘Pioneer’ is perhaps the term most used to summarize the work and life of this multidisciplinary artist, constantly ahead of his time. But, Jourdain's avant-gardism must be considered in a complete way, "so much [the artist] dominates with his originality the most effective research undertaken in the field of interior architecture, furniture and objects of use , during years which were decisive for French art, both in terms of ideas and works", as Léon Moussinac recalls.

CREATOR OF EVERYDAY OBJECTS

In his “unfurnished” interiors, made up of simple and functionalist furniture, Francis Jourdain still allowed fantasy and colors to express themselves, “once the functions have been fulfilled and the needs satisfied”. To do this, he designed various everyday objects, such as lighting, curtains, carpets, ceramics or wallpaper – all marked by their polychromy, their simple shape and their modularity – which he sold in his boutiques, and which populated his apartments. Jourdain was keen to create “reasonable objects”, which would not resemble unaffordable works of art. Later, this innovative idea would lead, within the framework of the Union of Modern Artists, to the exhibition “Formes Utiles” in 1949-1950 at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs, in Paris

CERAMIC WORK

francis_jourdain_ceramique_vases_pot_boite_ceramic_art-deco_paris_emmanuel_eyraud.jpg

Among the everyday objects created by Francis Jourdain, ceramics occupy a predominant place. The pieces he creates are all glazed earths decorated with enamels in strong colors. Their simple shape is often accompanied by more complex decoration, characterized by geometric patterns. This reflects a certain influence of Cubism then prevalent in the pictorial art of the time. Other founding members of the Union of Modern Artists, René Herbst (1891-1982) and Robert Lallemant (1902-1954) also produced ceramics responding to these ornamental characteristics.

WOOD & MODERNITY

francis_jourdain_paire_fauteuils_armchairs_uam_modernism_frêne_1922_estampille_emmanuel_ey

“What for a long time, at the time of dogmatism, put the work of Francis Jourdain in the closets of a turn of the century craftsmanship poorly freed from Arts and Crafts and Art Nouveau influences, is this constant use of wood, of woods. Modernity could only be associated with its emblematic materials which are iron, glass, rubber, in a way with “technical” materials. But Francis Jourdain’s use of wood is not outdated. First he uses them all, the simplest as well as the most precious: fir, light oak, dark oak, ash, mahogany, zingana, maple, sycamore, Macassar ebony... They are sometimes painted in bold colors, blues, reds, oranges, or left in their fullness by playing on the alliances of veins producing a "decorative" effect ; some owing nothing to the ornament but revealing, on the contrary, the accuracy of the effect sought by the true use of real materials. The lessons of Loos have been learned and applied. It is indeed applied art; […]. »

 

Source: Arlette Barré-Despond in Francis Jourdain, A modern journey 1876-1958 – Catalog of the traveling exhibition, Éditions Somogy, Paris, 2000, p. 57.

DEFURNISHING & MODERNITY

20240116_060.jpg

From 1922-1923, Francis Jourdain's creations were marked by even more simplicity and his interiors were gradually “unfurnished”. Thus was born his concept of defurnishing, which would allow one to "very luxuriously furnish a room by unfurnishing it rather than by furnishing it" ; raising to the rank of promising decorator the "one who knows how to stick to the elements strictly required ". This seems to be the credo of the modern interiors that will follow, making Francis Jourdain a precursor of modernity. Less is more.

As an example, the layouts of the apartments of Robert Draeger and René Gas dating from this period both show pieces of furniture with simple lines, and arranged in “an atmosphere of order, space and light”.

 

Source: René Chavance and Denis Doria in Francis Jourdain, A modern journey 1876-1958 – Catalog of the traveling exhibition, Éditions Somogy, Paris, 2000, p. 86.

LOOS' LESSONS

Francis Jourdain UAM Buffet à corps quadrangulaire en frêne et placage vers 1920-1923 emma

Collaborating regularly with Georges Besson (1882-1971), founder of the magazine 'Les Cahiers d'aujourd’hui' (1912-1924), Francis Jourdain was at the origin of the publication in this magazine, in June 1913, of an extract from 'Ornament and Crime' (1908), a founding text by Adolf Loos (1870-1933) recognized as an essential source of the ideas of the Modern Movement. It is therefore to Jourdain that goes the merit of having put forward the theories of the Viennese architect within French artistic circles. These theories were above all in line with his own ideas and led to the creation of his “interchangeable furniture” and his concept of “defurnishing”. Loos' essay, which firmly condemned ornament – for him synonymous with sacrilege – inspired Jourdain to create functionalist furniture, with simple and clean lines, which distinguished itself from the Art Nouveau aesthetic still in force at the time. In 1920, Le Corbusier (1887-1965) also took an interest in the Viennese’s writings, of which he also published extracts in the magazine 'L'Esprit Nouveau' (1920-1927), which he had founded with Amédée Ozenfant (1886-1966) and Paul Dermée (1886-1951). Loos' theories then served as support for the defense of modern architecture free from historical styles, which he helped to make famous.

 

Source: Arlette Barré-Despond – Jourdain – Éditions du Regard, Paris, 1988, p. 241-247.

bottom of page

top of page

Tribute to
Francis Jourdain

pionnier de la modernité
du 16 juin au 28 juillet 2023

Pionnier de la modernité

Proche des milieux artistiques, engagé politiquement, avant-gardiste, peintre, écrivain, décorateur, architecte d’intérieur ; les qualificatifs ne manquent pas pour tenter de définir Francis Jourdain. ‘Pionnier’ est peut-être le terme le plus employé pour résumer l’œuvre et la vie de cet artiste pluridisciplinaire, constamment en avance sur son temps. Mais, l’avant-gardisme de Jourdain est à envisager de manière complète, « tellement [l’artiste] domine de son originalité les recherches les plus efficaces entreprises dans le domaine de l’architecture intérieure, du mobilier et des objets d’usage, durant des années qui furent décisives pour l’art français, tant en ce qui concerne les idées que les œuvres », comme le rappelle Léon Moussinac.

Créateur d’objets quotidiens

Dans ses intérieurs « démeublés », constitués de mobilier simple et fonctionnaliste, Francis Jourdain laissait tout de même s’exprimer la fantaisie et un goût pour les couleurs, « une fois les fonctions remplies et les besoins satisfaits ».  Pour ce faire, il conçut divers objets quotidiens, tels que des luminaires, rideaux, tapis, céramiques ou papiers peints – tous marqués par leur polychromie, leur forme simple et leur modularité – qu’il commercialisait dans ses boutiques, et qui peuplèrent ses appartements. Jourdain avait à cœur de créer des « objets raisonnables », qui ne s’apparenteraient pas à des œuvres d’art inabordables. Plus tard, cette idée novatrice débouchera, dans le cadre de l’UAM, à l’exposition « Formes Utiles » de 1949-1950 au Musée des Arts Décoratifs.

L'OEUVRE CÉRAMIQUE

francis_jourdain_ceramique_vases_pot_boite_ceramic_art-deco_paris_emmanuel_eyraud.jpg

Parmi les objets quotidiens créés par Francis Jourdain, la céramique occupe une place prépondérante. Les pièces qu'il réalise sont toutes des terres vernissées198 décorées d'émaux aux couleurs marquées. Leur forme simple est souvent accompagnée d'un décor plus complexe, caractérisé par des motifs géométriques. En cela se traduit une certaine influence du cubisme alors prégnant dans l'art pictural de l'époque. Autres membres fondateurs de l'Union des Artistes Modernes, René Herbst (1891-1982) et Robert Lallemant (1902-1954) réaliseront également des céramiques répondant à ces caractéristiques ornementales. 

BOIS & MODERNITÉ

francis_jourdain_paire_fauteuils_armchairs_uam_modernism_frêne_1922_estampille_emmanuel_ey

« Ce qui pendant longtemps, au temps du dogmatisme, a remisé l’œuvre de Francis Jourdain dans les placards d’un artisanat début de siècle mal dégagé des influences Arts and Crafts et Art nouveau, c’est cet usage constant du bois, des bois. La modernité ne pouvait être associée qu’à ses matériaux emblématiques que sont le fer, le verre, le caoutchouc, en quelque sorte aux matériaux « techniques ». Mais l’usage que fait Francis Jourdain du bois n’est pas passéiste. D’abord il les utilise tous, les plus simples comme les plus précieux : sapin, chêne clair, foncé, frêne, acajou, zingana, érable, sycomore, ébène de Macassar… Ils sont peints parfois, de couleurs franches, des bleus, des rouges, des orangés, ou laissés dans leur plénitude en jouant sur les alliances de veines produisant un effet « décoratif » certains ne devant rien à l’ornement mais révélant, au contraire, la justesse de l’effet recherché par l’utilisation vraie de matériaux vrais. Les leçons de Loos ont été retenues et appliquées. Il s’agit bien d’art appliqué ; et sans insister trop sur un jeu de mots qui peut sembler facile, il s’agit également d’art impliqué. »

Source : Arlette Barré-Despond in Francis Jourdain, Un parcours moderne 1876-1958 – Catalogue de l’exposition itinérante, Éditions Somogy, Paris, 2000, p. 57.

DÉMEUBLEMENT & MODERNITÉ

20240116_060.jpg

Dès 1922-1923, les créations de Francis Jourdain sont marquées par encore plus de simplicité et ses intérieurs se « démeublent » progressivement. Naît ainsi son concept de démeublement, qui voudrait que l’on puisse « aménager très luxueusement une pièce en la démeublant plutôt qu'en la meublant », portant au rang de décorateur d’avenir « celui qui saura s’en tenir aux éléments strictement nécessaires ». Semble là être prononcé le crédo des intérieurs modernes qui suivront, faisant de Francis Jourdain un précurseur de la modernité. Less is more. 
L’aménagement des appartements de Robert Draeger et de René Gas datant de cette période montre des pièces de mobilier aux lignes simples, et disposés dans « une atmosphère d’ordre, d’espace et de
lumière ». 

Source : René Chavance et Denis Doria in Francis Jourdain, Un parcours moderne 1876-1958 – Catalogue de l’exposition itinérante, Éditions Somogy, Paris, 2000, p. 86. 

LES LEÇONS DE LOOS

Francis Jourdain UAM Buffet à corps quadrangulaire en frêne et placage vers 1920-1923 emma

Collaborant régulièrement avec Georges Besson (1882-1971), fondateur de la revue ‘Les Cahiers d’aujourd’hui’ (1912-1924), Francis Jourdain fut à l’origine de la publication dans cette même revue, en juin 1913, d’un extrait d’ ‘Ornement et Crime’ (1908), texte fondateur d’Adolf Loos (1870-1933) reconnu comme source essentielle des idées du Mouvement Moderne. C’est donc à Jourdain que revient le mérite d’avoir mis en avant les théories de l’architecte viennois au sein des milieux artistiques français. Ces théories étaient avant tout en adéquation avec ses propres idées et conduisirent à la création de ses « meubles interchangeables » et son concept de « démeublement ». L’essai de Loos, qui condamnait fermement l’ornement – pour lui synonyme de sacrilège – inspira Jourdain dans la création d’un mobilier fonctionnaliste, aux lignes simples et épurées, qui se distinguait de l’esthétique Art nouveau encore en vigueur. En 1920, Le Corbusier (1887-1965) s’intéressera à son tour aux écrits du viennois, dont il publia également des extraits dans la revue ‘L’Esprit Nouveau’ (1920-1927), qu’il avait fondée avec Amédée Ozenfant (1886-1966) et Paul Dermée (1886-1951). Les théories de Loos lui servirent alors d’appui pour la défense d’une architecture moderne dégagée des styles historiques, qu’il contribua à rendre célèbre.

Source : Arlette Barré-Despond – Jourdain – Éditions du Regard, Paris, 1988, p. 241-247.

bottom of page